Jump to content

  • Help Topic: Private messaging


    The private messaging service can be used to have private conversations with other members of the website. To access the service, simply click on the envelope icon next to your username at the top of each page.

    Managing conversations
    In your private messaging mailbox, all the conversations you have with other members are displayed by default, but you can choose to display only conversations you have started, or only conversations started by others. To do so, select the appropriate option in the drop-down menu below the list of conversations, then click on "Update".
    To delete a whole conversation, tick the box next to the conversation, then select "Delete" in the drop-down menu below the list of conversations and click on OK. If you were the person who started the conversation, this will delete the conversation from your list and deactivate it for all the other members who were involved in the discussion (they will now simply be able to read the messages). If you were not the person who started the conversation, this will delete the conversation from your list and will remove you from the conversation (you will no longer be able to reply, but others will still be able to continue the conversation without you).
    Starting a new conversation
    To start a new conversation, click on the "Send a new message" button, then type in the names of the recipient(s) (suggestions will appear as you type – simply click on the appropriate username to add it). The "Invitation" option allows all members to get involved in the same conversation, whilst the "Copy" option starts a separate conversation with each member.
    Next, give your message a title and then type the message itself, just as you would do when creating a new thread. When you have finished, click on either “Send" or "Save", which will save the conversation in your drafts folder.

    Replying to a conversation
    To reply to a conversation, click on "Reply", type your message and click on "Send". You can also use the “Quick reply" option at the bottom of each conversion if you wish to reply more quickly.

    Adding new participants to a conversation
    If you wish to add additional participants to a conversation, click on the “Add” button on the left hand side and select the members you wish to add.

    Managing your folders
    By default, there are three standard folders for private messages:
    - New: contains all unread conversations.
    - My conversations: contains all the conversations in which you are involved.
    - Drafts: contains saved messages that haven’t been sent.
    You can also add your own folders to make it easier to manage your messages: click on the "Add" button below the list of folders, type a name for the folder you wish to create, then click on "+".

    To move a message from one folder to another, tick the box alongside the conversation, use the drop-down menu to select the name of the folder you would like to move the conversation to, then click on OK.

    To rename, empty or delete a folder, click on the "Edit" button below the list of folders.
    – to rename a folder: type the new name in the text box replacing the folder’s current name, then click on the ">" button (you cannot rename the standard folders).
    - to empty a folder: click on the "dustbin" icon next to the folder’s name.
    - to delete a folder: click on the "no entry" icon next to the folder’s name. Warning: this will also delete any messages in the folder (you cannot delete the standard folders).


    Invision Power Services, Inc. Community Software by Invision Power Services, Inc.